SARB to launch commemorative banknotes in honour of Nelson Mandela’s centenary

The South African Reserve Bank (SARB) will this year launch a set of commemorative South African banknotes, which will cover all denominations – R10, R20, R50, R100 and R200 – in honour of what would have been Nelson Mandela’s centenary. The South African Mint, a subsidiary of the SARB, will simultaneously issue a new R5 circulation coin to celebrate Mandela’s birth centenary.