Five Primary Schools for Powys

Work started in February on a £24m bundle of five new primary schools in the Powys border region.

Bureau Veritas is supporting design and build contractor, Willmott Dixon, with the Principal Designer role under the CDM Regulations across the five projects.

The programme, in the Gwernyfed catchment area of the county, is jointly funded by Welsh Government and Powys County Council, with some Church in Wales funding.

The move is part of the £1.4bn ‘21st Century Schools and Education Programme’, a unique collaboration between the Welsh Gover

The current package of state-of the art teaching accommodation for young learners will comprise:

• Hay-on-Wye Community Primary School – a 210 place community primary school which will include youth/community facilities and a public library

• Clyro Church in Wales Voluntary Controlled School – a 120 place school which will meet the projected demand in the north of the catchment area

• Bronllys/Talgarth Community Primary School – a 150 place community primary school built on a greenfield site will replace two existing schools

• Llangors Church in Wales Voluntary Controlled School – a 150 place school will meet the need for places in the south of the catchment area

• Archdeacon Griffiths Church in Wales Voluntary Aided School, Llyswen – a 150 place school will serve the west of the catchment area

Working in conjunction with the design managers, Bureau Veritas compiled co-ordinated design-risk registers for each of the schools. These registers identified buildability and maintenance risks that could be addressed during the design and pre-construction process.

The five schemes will run concurrently and are scheduled for completion in 2018.